Psa 122:6  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem: they shall prosper that love thee


Latest Israel News

Breaking Israel News

Times of Israel

Biblical Jerusalem

Jerusalem 101


Hebrew Calendar

Lest We Forget

The Holocaust


Levi Aviel ben Avraham


Israel National Anthem

Praise and Worship

Israel Defense Forces


Hebrew Glossary

Radical Islam (Brief History)

twoolivescripture2 Zechariah 4:11

The language of the Bible, among other things, is the language of symbols or symbolism. Symbolism conveys a hidden meaning to the reader or listener. It tells us about artistic expression and represents abstract ideas. However, it is not limited to poetry and art. While reading the Bible, we come across many people, objects, and events that have multiple meanings and significance. If we understand them, we can raise our faith and strengthen our relationship with God. They give deeper meaning to abstract notions. Most biblical symbols are easily recognizable to a familiar reader, but a few have cultural references that need the knowledge to understand.

In the Bible, the olive tree, branch, or leaf is a symbol of peace, prosperity, beauty, and victory and, of course, a relationship between God and man. This symbol is mentioned frequently in the bible. In the first example, it is for hope. In the second one, it is used for the new beginning for humanity, reconciliation with God, and revival.

It is how an "infinite God", not bound by the space and time continuim, could communicate with finite beings, so that man might grasp the biblical concepts and truths that go beyond their experience or capability. The Tanakh is the B'rit Hadashah Concealed and the B'rit Hadashah is the Tanakh Revealed.

Click on each picture below for more detailed information

israelflag shekel israelemblem


Jerusalem is the capital of the State of Israel, its seat of government, and the holiest city in Judaism. It is also Israel's largest, most populated and most religiously diverse city. Great is the LORD, and greatly to be praised in the city of our God, in the mountain of his holiness. Beautiful for situation, the joy of the whole earth, is Mount Zion, on the sides of the north, the city of the great King (Psalm 48:1-2).

Hebrew letter shinThe 21st Hebrew letter is "shin" which looks a bit like our English alphabet "W". It is interesting that there are a lot of important Hebrew words that has this letter in its spelling. The Hebrew name "El Shaddai" means "Almighty God, the All Sufficient One" and the "shin" is the first letter in the word "Shaddai".

It is also interesting that the Jews place a symbol ( the same "Shin" ) outside their house on the doorpostmezuzah of the doors (mezuzot - plural) is a piece of parchment called a klaf contained in a decorative case and inscribed with specific Hebrew verses from the Torah (Deuteronomy 6:4–9 and 11:13–21[1]).

Jerusalem Examine the name Jerusalem (at left) closely and you will notice again that the letter "shin" appears in the middle of the word "Yerusalayim" (Hebrew) or Jerusalem (English). God told King Solomon that He had chosen Jerusalem that He may put His Name there (2 Chronicles 6:6) - "But I have chosen Jerusalem, that My Name [and the symbol of My presence] might be there, and I have chosen David to be over My people Israel" - AMP.

There is one other place God has chosen to write His Name. God's Name is not only written in the land of Israel, but spiritually on our hearts! Humanity has the undeniable mark of being God's creation. Each of us have to choose whether to give our hearts totally to Him or not. But, when we do, and the enemy comes against us, God can also tell Satan, "You can't have them, because my Name is written there!"

Return to Home Page